North side of K Street, between Front and Second Streets
The Lady Adams Building is the only building still standing in Old Sacramento that survived the city’s devastating fire of 1852.
German immigrants started the wholesale and importing business in 1849. Upon arriving in Sacramento, they docked their ship at the foot of K Street. With property lots selling at inflated prices, they turned their ship into a floating mercantile store. What was the ship’s name? Lady Adams.
By 1850, the men moved to dry land and built a 1-story frame structure. Using bricks stored in the Lady Adams’ hold, they replaced the wood-framed building with one made of brick. Five months later, the great fire destroyed much of the city. The Lady Adams Building survived.
In 1861, the company filed for bankruptcy. The firm of Fogus and Coghill purchased the business. They operated Lady Adams from 1861-1868. These owners raised the building to the new level of K Street in 1866.